Journalist and teacher Julia Goldberg invited me to speak to her college journalism students at the Santa Fe University of Art and Design Tuesday afternoon. Some of them asked some smart questions and some of them asked nothing, which is the usual norm at these sorts of functions. One student asked how I keep my stories fresh, and I said I’m not sure I always do, and another asked me about getting excited about stories you really don’t want to write, and I said I really didn’t know. As you can tell, I was a big help. In truth, I’ve already loved writing so I can write just about anything thrown at me, and I did tell the students that it’s up to a really large community of readers – most of whom you will never hear from – to decide if what you produce has any merit.

Visiting the class reminded me of another crazy childhood story: when I was in kindergarten I made some colored drawings to bring home to my mother, like kids in kindergarten do, and I got off the bus to go home – which was right across the street from where the bus stopped – and the wind was blowing and so some of my papers flew out of my hand and in front of the bus, so I ran after them and the bus driver, who didn’t see me, hit the gas and basically the bus ran me over after knocking me down. I didn’t get hit by the wheels or anything, but then the driver stopped the vehicle, looked out the window at me, and I remember all the other kids laughing as my papers flew down the street in a gust of wind. And then the driver rolled on down the street, forgetting all about me, I guess, and here’s the funny part: my mother, who witnessed the whole thing from the door of my house, chided me upon arriving, battered and crying, to the front door: “What’s wrong with you? Why are you ruing the man’s bus? Do you want the school district to sue me? Get in the house.”

And people wonder why I have such a nutty sense of humor. Or why I write about education. Anyway I told that story to the SFUAD kids, and they just looked at me as if I was nuts, though at least a few of them laughed.

Anyway,here’s a link to the student’s magazine: http://jackalopemagazine.com

Julia’s a cool, bright lady.

