I dropped the print version of my “Learning Curve” column last week after three years. Running a column while working as a hard-news journalist is not easy and there were/are a lot of lines that just can not be crossed. So a lot of people think I’m not covering education for the paper anymore, which is baffling, because i probably have one education story per day in The New Mexican. But strangely enough I met a lot of people who said, “I only read your column,” which, given it often carried light or human-interest reports, surprises me.

This weekend I wrote a piece on the new virtual charter school in Santa Fe – New Mexico Connections – and a piece on teachers’ criticism of the state’s plan to give teachers a $5,000 bonus for transferring from a good school (A or B) to a not-so-good school (D or F) Here’s a link: http://www.santafenewmexican.com/news/local_news/article_ba7174a4-2a5d-5663-aaa6-4587ac29fda4.html

